Tuesday, November 30, 2010

On Sin and Annoyances...

I can't stand gluttons. Now I can't say too much because I'm guilty of this too, but it really bugs me, especially when the results of someone else's gluttony affects me.

Probably the most stereotyped and oft-seen example is food. My family isn't incredibly rich. We have enough money to get what we need and pay the bills, and we're not afraid to try different things. Still, I hear dad complaining about how he gets paid and all the money just disappears. So when some individual in the family gets home from work, opens the fridge door, and starts stuffing everything they can get their hands on into their mouth...it disgusts me. That container of roast beef costs money. That fudge (which I want to last for a week) is gone in a day, just by one person.

Yes, that person may have paid for the food, but all of us need to eat it! And things like bottles of wine and beer REALLY irk me. (Let me say that I don't have anything against drinking wine or beer.) You don't need wine. It doesn't have any medicinal values. They cost from five to fifteen dollars. Fifteen dollars? That could buy the materials for like ten loaves of bread. It could buy three frozen pizzas, which would save on cleanup and time. I'm not about to "go green" but being careful where we put our money would really save us a lot.

And it wouldn't hurt us to be a little hungry sometimes, now would it?

1 comment:

  1. Sad thing is, that's what our American culture is made up of now. A bunch of fat gluttons. *ahem* unfortunately, including me. >:-/ But I'm trying to do better!

    ReplyDelete