Say you have something wrong with your life. For the sake of this blog, let's say lust. You know its wrong, you want to stop, but you just can't seem to be able to. You're also doing your best to grow closer to Christ, but this is a major stumbling block. How do you approach it?
Well, I'd say there are two ways to approach it. The typical human way, and the spiritual way. Mankind likes to be in control. We want to do the big jobs, to be the explorers, to be perfect. We feel like we have to do something to make this happen, though. Er, do something as in physical action. With lust, man thinks, "I have to fight this horrid thing!" (Ok, we think that whenever we aren't thinking lustfully...but hey.) Sure, we pray and ask for help. We go to seminars. We get accountability pardners. But what's up with this? We're trying to be the ones causing growth. That's the problem. We think that if we can get rid of this trait, then we'll be closer to God.
I take a different view. Its nothing revolutionary, but it almost seems too simple and easy to be true. The bible says to be transformed by the renewing of our hearts. It says that if we confess our sins, then we can depend on him to wash us clean. It says we should be God's "tools", and that we should give all of ourselves to him, not just part. It says to trust in the Lord, for he will always be our strength. It says if we put God first, he will bless our path! This would be (back to the lust again) like saying, "Ok God, I'ma do my absolute best to get closer to you." Devote yourself! Ask yourself if you believe or if you're just there for the looks and benefits.
I'm guessing its obvious now which one I think. I realized that I've been trying to fix a problem of my own, but I was looking at it from the first angle. I wanted to fix my problem, and if I was able to do that, I would be closer to God! Yay! Only I can't fix it without God. That's sorta the problem here. You have to apply yourself and constantly ask God's will. Read the scriptures! God will take care of your problems if you're focused on him. Its how he rolls, and I gotta say that he rolls pretty awesomeley.
J~S
No comments:
Post a Comment